Fast Facts about SNEW & Second Taxing District

The Second Taxing District owns and independently operates South Norwalk Electric and Water (SNEW), a water and electric utility.

  • We provide approximately 6,500 customers with electric in South Norwalk
  • We provide over 9,500 customers with water throughout sections of:
    • South Norwalk
    • East Norwalk
    • West Norwalk
    • Rowayton
    • Silvermine
    • Wilton
  • We were established in 1913, by a special act of the Connecticut State Legislature
  • We are governed by a board of 7 elected commissioners who also serve as Water and Electric Commissioners
  • The Commission has the power and authority to handle the affairs of the organization similar to selectmen of towns
  • We maintain parks and other public spaces in the South Norwalk community